The drafting and signing of the United States Constitution were momentous events that took place in Independence Hall in Philadelphia, Pennsylvania in the summer of 1787. After the American Revolution, the newly formed United States was struggling to govern itself effectively under the Articles of Confederation, a weak central government that had been established during the war. In May 1787, delegates from 12 states, including George Washington, Benjamin Franklin, and James Madison, came together to address these issues at the Constitutional Convention.

Over the course of four months, the delegates engaged in heated debates and compromises, ultimately producing the U.S. Constitution, a document that established a framework for a strong central government with three distinct branches: legislative, executive, and judicial. The Constitution also outlined the rights and responsibilities of citizens, including the protection of individual liberties.

On September 17, 1787, 39 delegates signed the U.S. Constitution, marking a pivotal moment in American history. The Constitution was then sent to the states for ratification. After nine states ratified the Constitution, it officially became the law of the land on March 4, 1789. The signing of the U.S. Constitution at Independence Hall is commemorated annually as Constitution Day on September 17th.